By: John Black

In the August 13, 2012 Federal Register the Treasury Department announces, that for purposes of compliance with the antiboycott provisions of the IRS code, the list of countries which “require or may require participation in, or cooperation with, an international boycott.   This notice refers to the countries that require cooperation with the Arab League’s secondary and tertiary boycotts of Israel.  Under  the IRS rules a company may not claim foreign tax credits if it cooperates with such boycotts.

Part 760 of the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) also prohibits US persons from complying with certain aspects of unsanctioned foreign boycotts.  It has been a long time since the Commerce Department announced which countries require cooperation with boycotts for EAR purposes.  Even though the IRS list is not officially endorsed by the Commerce Department, it certainly makes a good list to use as a basis for deciding how to spend your antiboycott compliance resources.

The countries are:

  • Iraq
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Syria
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Yemen